“Public speaking is very easy.”

In honor of W, I will now be sharing a few of my fave Bushism with you. Hahaha enjoy!

“You teach a child to read, and he or her will be able to pass a literary test.”

“I am here to make an announcement that this Thursday, ticket counters and airplanes will fly out of Ronald Reagan Airport.”

“You know, one of the hardest parts of my job is to connect Iraq to the war on terror.”

“The same folks that are bombing innocent people in Iraq were the ones who attacked us in America on September the 11th.”

“I’m the commander–see, I don’t need to explain–I do not need to explain why I say things. That’s the interesting thing about being president.”

“I hear there’s rumors on the Internets that we’re going to have a draft.”

“I know how hard it is for you to put food on your family.”

“Do you have blacks, too?” [to Brazilian President Fernando Cardoso]

“This foreign policy stuff is a little frustrating.”

“Too many good docs are getting out of the business. Too many OB-GYNs aren’t able to practice their love with women all across this country.”

“You work three jobs? Uniquely American, isn’t it? I mean, that is fantastic that you’re doing that.” [to a divorced mother of 3]

“It’s clearly a budget. It’s got a lot of numbers in it.”

“Only a liberal senator from Massachusetts would say that a 49 percent increase in funding for education was not enough.”

“Our nation must come together to unite.”

“You can fool some of the people all the time, and those are the ones you want to concentrate on.”

“If we don’t succeed, we run the risk of failure.”

“Welcome to Mrs. Bush, and my fellow astronauts.”

“Republicans understand the importance of bondage between a mother and child.”

“The Holocaust was an obscene period in our nation’s history. I mean in this century’s history. But we all lived in this century. I didn’t live in this century.”

“One word sums up probably the responsibility of any Governor, and that one word is ‘to be prepared’.”

“I have made good judgments in the past. I have made good judgments in the future.”

“We’re going to have the best educated American people in the world.”

“I stand by all the misstatements that I’ve made.”

“We have a firm commitment to NATO. We are a part of NATO. We have a firm commitment to Europe. We are a part of Europe.”

“I am not part of the problem. I am a Republican.”

“A low voter turnout is an indication of fewer people going to the polls.”

“When I have been asked who caused the riots and the killing in LA, my answer has been direct and simple: Who is to blame for the riots? The rioters are to blame. Who is to blame for the killings? The killers are to blame.”

“Illegitimacy is something we should talk about in terms of not having it.”

“We are ready for any unforeseen event that may or may not occur.”

“For NASA, space is still a high priority.”

“Quite frankly, teachers are the only profession that teach our children.”

“The American people would not want to know of any misquotes that George Bush may or may not make.”

“It isn’t pollution that’s harming the environment. It’s the impurities in our air and water that are doing it.”

“[It’s] time for the human race to enter the solar system.”

“Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we. They never stop thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people, and neither do we.”

“Reading is the basics for all learning.”

“Rarely is the question asked: Is our children learning?”

“My views are one that speaks to freedom.”

“And it’s a struggle between good and it’s a struggle between evil.”

“Will the highways on the Internet become more few?”

“If you don’t stand for anything, you don’t stand for anything!”

“I think we agree, the past is over.”

“I know the human being and fish can coexist peacefully.”

“Families is where our nation finds hope, where wings take dream.”

“I just want you to know that, when we talk about war, we’re really talking about peace.” [WHOA UP there a minute, have you EVER read 1984? Wait, of course not.]

“We’re all capable of mistakes, but I do not care to enlighten you on the mistakes we may or may not have made.”

“Anyway, I’m so thankful, and so gracious–I’m gracious that my brother Jeb is concerned about the hemisphere as well.”

“Home is important. It’s important to have a home.”

“I am a person who recognizes the fallacy of humans.”

“I have opinions of my own, strong opinions, but I don’t always agree with them.”

“I promise you I will listen to what has been said here, even though I wasn’t here.”

“I recently met with the finance minister of the Palestinian Authority, was very impressed by his grasp of finances.”

“I’m also not very analytical. You know I don’t spend a lot of time thinking about myself, about why I do things.”

“It’s very importat for folks to understand that when there’s more trade, there’s more commerce.”

“I’ve coined new words, like misunderstanding and Hispanically.”

“The important question is, how many hands have I shaked.”

“The most important job is not to be governor. Or first lady in my case.”

“The war on terror involves Saddam Hussein because of the nature of Saddam Hussein, the history of Saddam Hussein, and his willingness to terrorize himself.”

“We’re concerned about AIDS inside our White House–make no mistake about it.”

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

