Yeah, well this is what a feminist looks like. Ha.

Back in May, I accidentally ran across a blog post written by Tinker Girl glorifying “anti-feminism”. Ha, it was the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever seen. And I don’t really feel like linking to it, either, since I don’t have very many nice things to say about it, for one thing, and since the blogger’s apparently gotten some pretty nasty comments, for another. But that sure as heck doesn’t mean I’m not going to write about it. ;]

She blogs: “iuyhb8hoijm0pi [actually no, my crazy cousin just typed that in] :]

No, really, she blogs [and the emphasis is all hers, baby]: “We Control the Future. Take a Stand! In this day and age, it take more than merely stating you are an ‘anti-feminist’ to make you one. How does your mind work? Even unconsciously we can live, and labor with the idea that we are EQUAL with, but moreover, the SAME as men…’I can do anything he can do…and better at that!’ is a mindset that has preyed on so many young women, started in girlhood. We need to be proud of our weaker qualities…Without them, where would we be? Where would our children be? Within us, we have the power to populate the world. The Power to teach future generations of the Love of God! of his available Salvation! The Feminists should fear our power…because we control the future. Feminists push (of many things) that its not the woman’s goal to marry and have a family. They fear us, because we WILL…We control the future. The future Generations. The future Believers. 1 Timothy 2:9-10 In like manner also, that women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with shamefacedness and sobriety; not with broided hair, or gold, or pearls, or costly array; But which becometh women professing godliness with good works. With our clothing, and our attitudes we can make clear to others where we stand…Words alone don’t cut it. Isn’t a marriage, career enough for a woman? Raising children? Teaching them? Does one need a college degree for that? 1 Timothy 4:12 Let no many despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity. Stand up for what is right…we are never to young to be heard…and its never too late to start. If you stand for nothing, you’ll fall for anything. – Mrs. B.

Now, obviously, there are many reasons one could give for what is so offensive. But. It’s so riddled with crap, it’s extremely hard to know where to start. Perhaps sometime I’ll give a line-by-line, uncensored response that I’ll never send to Tinker’s Girl. I did respond, and I think I managed to remain pretty polite, under the circumstance. But I’ll let you judge for yourself. Here is a complete transcript of the comments that appear on this blog at the time of this writing:

Carla said: “this was a great post:) it is sad how society has indoctrinated young girls with feminist ideas…men and women are equal but each has different responsibilities. If we all REALLY read what Scripture says, all women would relize* how wrong the feminist world actually is…”

*Is anyone still doubting the importance of women’s education? HELLO.

Lizzy Brown said: “Thanks Carla! :) Yeah… you are so right… if only all women WOULD read what it really says in the Scriptures…  it would change how they look on things… but even though I know, I still struggle with feminist ideas… and I have to fight that everyday! Also, I haven’t been to your blog in a while! I need to head over there… :P :D Thanks for commenting! Its great to hear others agree with my own feelings! :)”

Bailey said: “Yes, this is great! I’ve never really thought about the fact that since feminists don’t support families, they will suffer because they have no one to pass their worldview on to. Wish I had a blog to put one of those “Fear Us” pics. :)”

I SAID: “wow. i’m going to say first off that i am a feminist. i am not a lesbian. i am not a man-hater. i am not anti-family. i am not anti-tradition. i am FOR allowing women to follow their dreams, the same as men, whether their dream is to be a rocket scientist or to be a stay-at-home wife and mother of seventeen kids. i am a christian. i am FOR families, FOR children, and i am pro-life. just though i’d let you know what, you know, we do exist. oh yes, there’s more where i come from.”

Lizzy Brown said: “Hi Talia, It’s great to have your comment! I was intrigued by your view of feminism… though I must say that you seem to have contradicted yourself in saying that you are a feminist, and yet not anti-tradition. Feminism in and of itself is one of the purest forms of Anti-traditionalism… Feminism, as we know, is a relatively new idea… and therefore couldn’t be seen as traditional in any circle, Feminist, or otherwise. Also as I am sure most Anti-feminists would agree, Feminism doesn’t mix with Christianity. Our Father has told His children what the woman’s place is… and I don’t think one needs to have the chance to study rocket science in order to understand what that place is. Again, I’m pleased to have had the chance to read your opinion, even though we may be far from agreeing, I hope that the Lord will shine through with the Truth.”

I SAID: “when i say i’m not anti-tradition, what i mean is that i have nothing against tradition and traditional homes, but at the same time i am making a different choice for myself and i believe that others should have that choice too. just because God speaks to me one way doesn’t mean my way is better than the way God speaks to you, but we do hear God differently. i believe feminism and christianity do mix, and go hand-in-hand. again, i’m not trying to argue, i just wanted to make you aware of another point of view. :]”  

Bailey said: “Hi Talia! If Lizzy will allow me, I’d like to echo what she said and also present my own personal opinion. Are you saying that you are for “choice”–that you believe women should have the choice to be a rocket scientist or something and/or be a mother and wife? I have heard this view of feminism before, though you do not call yourself a feminist*. I think you misunderstand, with all respect. You may not SUPPORT (i.e. proclaim from the rooftops) being anti-family, man-hating, etc. But it must be understood that if you are not for God’s plan, you are against it. “Anti-family” does not just mean radical feminists preaching birth control** and things. Anti-family could also mean anything that hinders familial relationships. God ordained husbands/fathers to be the providers of the household, while wives/daughters are to be the helpers. It is a little anti-family to have two providers for the household and no helper, even if you are “for” families. Actions speak louder than words. I agree that Lizzy in any degree, whether radical or conservative (such as yours)***, is anti-traditionalism. Also, it is not very important in the life of a Christian to follow his or her dreams, man or woman. It is no longer I, but Christ who lives in me. Surely as a professing Christian you believe that. I am not saying that God does not allow us to have dreams, that that is sinful, or that we cannot “follow our dreams”. God is a good Father, giving good gifts to His children. Yet the first priority in a Christian’s life is God, then others–mainly her family–and then herself and her dreams. Shouldn’t we be following God’s WILL as laid out in Scripture, and not our own pleasure? If you are really a Christian you must sacrifice your dreams, jobs or otherwise, in order to follow Christ. If you are really FOR families, you would not support any form of feminism (as you seem to subtly hint)****, for that takes mothers out of the home and wives away from their husbands. The workplace then becomes the woman’s head and first priority care, the home becoming secondary. That is anti-family. If you are really FOR children, you would not support any form of feminism, because children need stay-at-home mothers who can devote themselves to round the clock care. If mothers truly care about their children–unless the husband is dead or gone and their is no longer a provider for the family–why are they working outside the home? That is anti-children; it proves that children can wait and jobs can’t. I am not against women studying things such as medicine, or, yes, even rocket science. To be the greatest for God and for our husbands/fathers, we must be as highly educated as possible. Running a successful Christian home isn’t for the stupid and lazy. But if studying for anything, whether cooking and sewing or medicine and science, is put ahead of the woman’s MAIN GOAL (which is to be a helpmeet to her father/husband), then I am against that. I am not against women earning money; the Proverbs 31 woman earned money, but notice she did it from the home. However, if she ONLY made money and ignored giving to the poor, taking care of her household, or nurturing her children, then I am against a woman earning money. I am completely against a woman earning money outside the home, unless their is a very unusual circumstance which most women do not face. God clearly says for women to be taught different things than man (check out Titus 2). God says a man who does not provide for his family is an infidel. God says that a woman to be anywhere but in the home, serving from it and in it, is blasphemous (Titus 2 again). Man’s dominion is in the workplace, women’s dominion is the homefront (read again in Genesis what the different curses were). This is a glorious thing! God does not want women to be bogged down by trying to be man and woman at the same time, and He wants her to be able to serve Him the way He ordains it to be so that she may be rewarded to the fullest extent (that kicks out the argument that some women handle the household and workplace very well; it is still not God’s will). There ARE many from your camp; I was once once of them. But God does not call many; He calls few. The path of destruction is broad and glamorous; the path of righteousness is narrow and dull to look at. But it is beautiful if you will only travel upon it. God bless you, Talia. May the Lord give you insight upon this very controversial subject. In Christ, Bailey”

*Yes I do. Quite plainly. Learn to read. You know that thing called school?
**HAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHA.
***HAHAHHAHAHHAHAH I AM NOTTTTT a “conservative” feminist. Please. No. Never. I’m pretty outspoken about it, yeah I have strong opinions and a strong will and if you don’t like it, I don’t care. How is that conservative? I’m pretty hardcore about it actually. If you took the time to put some reading comprehension skills into action (oh wait!) you’d see that I actually do identify, right from the first, as a feminist.
****PLEASE learn to read.

Lizzy Brown said: “Hi Talia, Yes, I agree with Bailey, (thanks for your take B.!) and I’m glad she spoke up with her opinion, as she of course worded it better than I might have, for “I am slow of speech, and of a slow tongue” as Moses said, and not always able to speak my thoughts so clearly. Thus, I must add, that we as Anti-feminists don’t ‘hate’ feminists, or think too ill of them either… we are just drawn to explain the feminist mindsets faults and problems, and try to make others aware that it doesn’t please God. It speaks in 1 Corinthians, ‘Now I beseech you, brethren, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that ye all speak the same thing, and that there be no divisions among you; but that ye be perfectly joined together in the same mind and in the same judgment…” and “Is Christ divided?…” There cannot in truth, be feminists, and anti-feminists and both claim to be in a walk with the Lord. There is my spoon in the pot. I think that if ‘you’ (in a general sense, if you will) really gave up the personal will that displeases God, and lived your life for Him in entirety, you would see the there is no room for ‘choice’… there is one path in this mortal world, that a woman truly belongs on, and that path is the path that God paved with His clear and precise Word. Thank you for your comments Talia, I am glad that you felt comfortable to speak about your thoughts, though I cannot agree that God will speak to us in the same way… I did not need to have the Lord convict me to follow His will through the Word, it is clearly explained, without conviction or a personal spiritual revelation, just as the ten commandments are clear cut and understandable. Though for some unexplainable reason, we find it easier to not kill, steal, and follow the other commands rather than accept the woman’s place. That is a thought that I shall ponder; the inconstistency of man. Of course! No need to argue, I shall however, truly pray that the Lord will make clear His will for you and those others you spoke of, through His word.”

I SAID: “i suppose we’ll agree to disagree then. thanks for the interesting conversation. :]”

Lizzy Brown said: “Due to some VERY rude and grotesque comments on this post, I have decided to close the thread, and any more comments on the post (or on the subject elsewhere) will be immediately deleted.”

Upon rereading this thread from hell, I decided that I was even more polite than I remembered. Haha. Stay tuned for my actual uncensored inner thoughts! After these commercials.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

